leitmotifs

So Berlin show is coming on nicely (kindof?) and I wrote up a sexy production spreadsheet here: http://tinyurl.com/cco76bp actually re-looking at it, I should probably pass it to Juan or someone in DT bootcamp since the 1st years would probably find it useful

Today suddenly I had this idea, a performance piece that involves an artist asleep and people can walk into this room and sleep together (in the same bed) with the artist. To ensure that the artist is constantly asleep for the performance, I guess you would have to take sleeping pills in cycles …. and I wonder what the experience would be like, to be constantly asleep? with strangers unknown? do you feel a loss in the sense of time, a slowness? Of course there should be a level of security, but overall I think the idea of being asleep and yet performing and in conversation – is very interesting. Also the idea of audience/audiences watching you sleep, and perhaps joining you in bed (would they sleep too?)

Another thing I’ve been thinking about a lot of, is the idea of silence = resistance. Actually in the email I wrote: ““Silence as an artistic strategy should not be understood as mere political indifference,. Rather, it can be conceived as a strategy of resistance […] that opposes hegemonic cultural values by opening voices and points of view. It is an anti-authoritative mode that is not oppositional.” I’ve been thinking about this quote a lot, because it rings very cultural-politically specific to me and what it was like, growing up in Singapore

Politics has never been really discussed in Singapore, even though we’re technically a democracy the same party has ruled for the last 50 years – and our current PM is the son of our previous one (nepotism, much?) There isn’t really much opposition – political, social or civil. Part of it is because the government takes the phrase panem et circuses to new levels or what they call “the carrot and stick” methodology. As a student; first child then teenager I always got into trouble for speaking out.

The most common form of protest then, was silence. For instance a government official would be invited to give a talk in the school, and during the Q&A session there would be absolute silence. Zilch. Nothing. I remember one year, 17 years old – the teachers were so desperate that they wrote questions on pieces of paper and forced students to ask questions (“or else.”) It was the most amusing and ridiculous theatre I have ever seen – an entire lecture hall, 2 floors high – filled to the brim with 17-18-19 y.o teenagers (about 800 of us) and the teachers/school desperately trying to get volunteers while the government official waited for students to ask the “acknowledged” questions and the students – sleeping, chatting quietly, texting and blatantly ignoring everyone. It was theatre, not debate. Our apathy was a silent protest against the farce.

Also recently I met artist Paolo Ventura (and his wife + child):

Can I just tell you he is the COOLEST DUDE EVER? So cool. I have a pic of him + myself, but I am the epitome of uncoolness+unphotogenic in photos so here’s a pic of him + his wife, whom I reckon is kinda cool as well. I adore his work btw, my favourite being the Automaton series. Here’s his website: http://www.paoloventura.com/ and when I told him I wanted to be like him one day he was like: “I hope that day will come soon *twinkly smile*” and I was like OMG SO COOL and we talked a bit and yea… … it was ~awesomesauce~

Here’s a page from Germania, with an interesting quote about Kassel…. and guess what? is absolutely true. I was there with the rest of the Parsons IS group (a mix of photography, fine arts and dt students) and I was like: “this place is unreal, like some kind of fairytale” and they kinda laughed at me for it…. lol now I feel entirely justified in my feelings though. I actually want to talk more about Kassel and what happened there, and how I could use it in my work but yea, once I sort it out later.

Leave a Reply

